Easter Cake

7 Mar

Last year for Easter I made this cake for our family dinner in Marble Hill. I believe it’s still around (in my Grandma’s freezer!) because my Grandma wouldn’t let me cut it.

Thankfully the plan was to cover it in gumpaste flowers because my fondant work wasn’t very pretty on this one. Thanks for the pictures Graeme!

This year we’re planning on being down there again. Hopefully my Aunt and Uncle and Cousins from New Hampshire will be coming too! Aunt Debi wanted me to make a cake with Annie, so that got me thinking on what to do. I also want to make macarons to go with the cake and this is what inspired me. Something more geometric and modern this year.

French Macarons

I love these bright bold colors. Spring doesn’t have to be pastel right?

I love the circles too, so i think that is going to be the theme of the cake. Here’s my inspiration so far.

Or I could just load the cake with Macarons

3 Responses to “Easter Cake”

  1. deb meyers March 8, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    forget annie, make a cake with me : )

    my friend’s daughter just returned from Paris bearing macarons. I must show her this!

    love aunt debi

    • deb meyers March 8, 2011 at 10:57 am #

      in addition, we found my canary Pete in that freezer. I believe he passed in the 1970s, and mom had plans to have him stuffed for me. Leave the fondant there for your grandchildren to find…it will be fun!

  2. Dawn Platte March 8, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    OH MY!!!!! Craving macaroons after Hannah had brought them home from Paris at Christmas and these photos are not helping. Feel like I could thrust my head into the computer screen and eat them! These are lovely ….. ahhh …. SPRING!!!

Leave a Reply

