Chickens

1 Mar

Just got back from my Tuesday night riding lessons. I’m always amazed at how much exercise i get from riding the horse who is doing all the work. Anywho that’s not what this post is about. Ashlee and I are getting chicks this spring! We wanted to do it last year, but it just didn’t work out. We were going to order them directly from Murry Mcmurry hatchery (here: http://www.mcmurrayhatchery.com/index.html ), but you have to order a minimum of 25 chicks. We are only getting 6, so we had to figure out something else. I remembered that Steve’s Ace hardware had chicks last spring, so I went by to see if they would be getting them an again this year, and they are :). So when April roles around Ashlee and I should be receiving our 6 little fluffy chicks.

We’re getting 2 of each of these beauties

Buff Orpintons

These girls are great. We had a few on our farm in TN.

Black Australorps

Also had some of these pretty ladies too.

Plymouth Barred Rock

I just think these look like the classic chicken 🙂

While our little chickies are growing up, they will be living in Ashlee’s garage, meanwhile, my sweet sweet husband will build them their perfect little coop. I’m thinking of using these two designs; pulling different things from both. Now if we can just keep Atticus from them!

Our big monster. Hopefully not a chicken eater!!

Atticus

5 Responses to “Chickens”

  1. Ashlee March 2, 2011 at 4:23 am #

    I love the chickens!! Especially the last one…so pretty. Your husband is going to make a GREAT chicken coup. I can’t wait to see it!

  2. deb meyers March 2, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    So fun! Would love to see a close-up of the coop design. I like the shaded feed area beneath.

    Atticus will be delirious.

    • claire March 2, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

      We’re hoping to put an invisible fence in to ward him off.

  3. Leah March 2, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    I’m jealous. We are not supposed to have farm animals in town, but I sure am tempted to get a few hens. Kate’s friend, Rachel, has six or so and is having great fun with them. I know you will too! 🙂

    • claire March 2, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

      There really aren’t any laws up here. kind of a gray area. As far as I know, we just have to keep them contained in our yard, and they can’t be cause for a noise complaint. i.e. no roosters.

Leave a Reply

