Emma’s Retro 60’s Barbie house

28 Feb

One of my most likely annoying traits to my husband is when I get “brilliant” ideas and obsess over them until a.) I follow through and do it, or  b.) I get another “brilliant” idea and the cycle continues. This idea was one that i followed through on. The Barbie house was originally  for Emma Lou’s 1oth birthday, but it naturally was costing more than i thought it would, and we had no idea how to get it to her on her birthday. So we frantically worked on it to get it finished in time for Christmas, and we did. A love for retro runs deep in our family, so I knew she would love it. I loooove the early 60’s style. it’s so chic and classic. Mom and i had many a phone conversation about the house and were both wishing we were 1o again. Most of it is handmade, but i did do a lot of thrift store hunting and re-purposing. Well here’s Emma’ 1960’s Barbie dream house!

Here it is in progress. I came up with the plans, and my loving husband did the building.

The finished product on Christmas morning!

Here are close ups of all the rooms…we’ll start with the kitchen

Kitchen/living room/dining room. Turkey dinner on the table for Christmas.

Living room…

Living room. Asian themed.

Skippers. Ready for slumber parties!

Skipper's room.

This picture isn’t as good, but you can see a bit more of her room.

On to the upstairs…

Barbie and Ken's master suit

Master bath…

Bathtub is a wooden kleenex box cover, sink is an ash try i think, and the toilet is a pestle and mortar bottom. Sorry this one won't rotate for some reason.

Barbie’s swingin’ rooftop patio…

Ready to get a tan and have a BBQ.

Here’s the little booger seeing it for the first time.

She wouldn't get close to it at first.

Emma’s favorite part was having real stairs for her Barbies to go up and down( thanks justin :)). I wish I had taken more pictures of all the tiny details, tiny records, Life magazines, candy dishes, vintage cereal boxes and other foods. It was all so much fun to make, and she had no idea what she was getting.

Here’s the video
http://www.facebook.com/v/475314283567

3 Responses to “Emma’s Retro 60’s Barbie house”

  1. Leah March 2, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    Love the house, Claire. I had already seen pics of it from FaceBook. I even posted about it in my blog here:

    http://www.myfancy55.com/2010/12/family-creative-gifts.html.

    You and Justin are quite talented. I am sure Emma loves it. 🙂

  2. rob July 1, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    The house is so cool , It screams 1960’s which i am a complete lover of. Great job on the details.
    Rob

  3. Elissa August 14, 2012 at 7:10 am #

    Way cool house! I envy Emma and you’ve given me inspiration!

Leave a Reply

